

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

DJ Stadtler Executive Director 919 East Main Street, Suite 2400 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 303-8700 www.vpra.virginia.gov

Jennifer DeBruhl Chairperson

MINUTES Meeting of the Board of the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

Monday, April 24, 2023, · 11:00 am

All Virtual Meeting

The Virginia Passenger Rail Authority Board held a special all virtual meeting using electronic communications means on April 24, 2023.

MEMBERS PRESENT AND PARTICIPATING ELECTRONICALLY

The Chair Jennifer DeBruhl, Sharon Bulova, Victor Cardwell, Rich Dalton, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Jay Fisette, Rod Hall, Bruno Maestri, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Charles Payne, James Spore, John Watkins

MEMBERS ABSENT

Wick Moorman

VIRGINIA PASSENGER RAIL AUTHORITY STAFF

DJ Stadtler, Michael McLaughlin, Steve Pittard, Joan Panik, Michael Westermann MaryEstelle Douglas, Derrick Easter

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chairperson DeBruhl presided and called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. Ms. Douglas called roll and confirmed a quorum was present.

SAFETY BRIEFING

Michael McLaughlin, Chief Operating Officer, VPRA, completed a safety briefing.

BOARD CHAIR WELCOME

Presented by: Jennifer DeBruhl, Board Chairperson

Ms. DeBruhl welcomed all in attendance.

MOTION FOR CLOSED SESSION

Sharon Bulova made the following motion:

I move that the Board convene in a Closed Session pursuant to Section 2.2-3711 (A)(3) of the Code of Virginia, for the purpose of discussing the acquisition of a real property interest for a public purpose, where discussion in an open meeting would adversely affect the bargaining position or negotiating strategy of the public body.

The motion was seconded by Mr. Cardwell and carried unanimously with the vote in favor by Sharon Bulova, Victor Cardwell, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Jay Fisette, Rod Hall, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Charles Payne, and James Spore, and John Watkins.

The Board suspended the open session at 11:05 a.m. on April 24, 2023, to move into a closed session.

RECONVENE IN AN OPEN SESSION

The Chairperson reconvened the open session meeting at 11:15 a.m. on April 24, 2023. Upon reconvening the meeting, the Chairperson made the following statement:

"We are now going to take a roll call vote, and I ask that each member indicate their agreement with the following:

To the best of my knowledge, during the Closed Meeting, the only matters heard, discussed, or considered were those matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, and only those public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the Closed Meeting was convened."

The roll was then called, with all members indicating their agreement with the statement. Those indicating agreement were Sharon Bulova, Victor Cardwell, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Jay Fisette, Rod Hall, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Charles Payne, James Spore, and John Watkins.

NORTHERN VIRGINIA BRANCH OFFICE

Presented by: Joan Panik and Michael Westermann, VPRA

A motion was made by Ms. Bulova and seconded by Mr. Fisette to approve the establishment of a Northern Virginia Branch Office. The motion was carried unanimously, with the vote in favor cast by Sharon Bulova, Victor Cardwell, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Jay Fisette, Rod Hall, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Charles Payne, James Spore, and John Watkins.

ADJOURNMENT

Ms. Debruhl, the Chairperson, adjourned the meeting at 11:22 a.m. All presentations to the Board and meeting videos can be found at http://vpra.virginia.gov/about/board-meetings and on the VPRA YouTube site.

###