

# COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

## Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

DJ Stadtler Executive Director

Jennifer DeBruhl Chairperson 919 East Main Street, Suite 2400 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 303-8700 www.vpra.virginia.gov

#### MINUTES

### Meeting of the Board of the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

Thursday, November 16, 2023 · 10:00 am

Truist Place · 919 East Main Street · Richmond, Virginia 23219

The Virginia Passenger Rail Authority Board held a virtual workshop on November 16, 2023.

#### MEMBERS PARTICIPATING ELECTRONICALLY

Jennifer DeBruhl (Chair), Sharon Bulova, Sandy Bushue, Victor Cardwell, Rich Dalton, Patricia Doersch, Rod Hall, Bruno Maestri, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Beth Rhinehart, John Watkins

Beth Rhinehart departed at 11:30 a.m.

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT**

John Delandro, Thelma Drake, Charlie Payne, James Spore

#### **VIRGINIA PASSENGER RAIL AUTHORITY STAFF**

DJ Stadtler, Michael McLaughlin, Steve Pittard, Joan Panik, Michael Westermann, Shirlene Cleveland, John Kostyniuk, Joe Schinstock, Geoff Pelletier, Jason Cheeks

#### CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chairperson DeBruhl presided and called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m. Ms. Douglas called roll and confirmed a quorum was virtually present.

#### **BOARD CHAIR WELCOME**

Presented by: Jennifer DeBruhl, Board Chairperson

Ms. DeBruhl welcomed all in attendance virtually.

#### **MOTION FOR CLOSED SESSION**

Sharon Bulova made the following motion:

"I move that the Board convene in a Closed Session pursuant to Section 2.2-3711 (A)(6) of the Code of Virginia, for the discussion or consideration of the investment of public funds where competition or bargaining is involved, where, if made public initially, the financial interest of VPRA would be adversely affected.

A motion was made by Sharon Bulova and seconded by Victor Cardwell to move into a closed session. The motion was carried unanimously, with the vote in favor cast by Sharon Bulova, Sandy Bushue, Victor Cardwell, Patricia Doersch, Rod Hall, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Beth Rhinehart, and John Watkins.

The Board moved into closed session at 10:04 a.m. on November 16, 2023.

\*\*\*

#### **RECONVENE IN AN OPEN SESSION**

The chairperson reconvened the open session meeting at 11:55 a.m. on November 16, 2023. Upon reconvening the meeting, the vice-chairperson made the following statement:

"We are now going to take a roll call vote, and I ask that each member indicate their agreement with the following:

To the best of my knowledge, during the Closed Meeting, the only matters heard, discussed, or considered were those matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, and only those public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the Closed Meeting was convened."

The roll was then called, with all members indicating their agreement with the statement. Those indicating agreement were Sharon Bulova, Sandy Bushue, Victor Cardwell, Patricia Doersch, Rod Hall, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, and John Watkins.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Ms. DeBruhl, the Chairperson, adjourned the meeting at 11:57 a.m. The meeting video can be found at http://vpra.virginia.gov/about/board-meetings and on the VPRA YouTube site.

\*\*\*

###