

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

DJ Stadtler Executive Director 919 East Main Street, Suite 2400 Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 303-8700 www.vpra.virginia.gov

Tiffany Robinson Chairperson

MINUTES

Meeting of the Board of the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

Thursday, May 22, 2025 · 10:30 am

1800 Diagonal Road · Alexandria, Virginia 22314

The Virginia Passenger Rail Authority Board held a regular, in-person meeting (with certain members participating remotely) on May 22, 2025 at 1800 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314.

MEMBERS PRESENT IN-PERSON

Tiffany Robinson, Chairperson, Sandy Bushue, Rich Dalton, Patricia Doersch, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, Bruno Maestri, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Beth Rhinehart

Darien Flowers joined in person at 12:30 PM.

Sandy Bushue left at 1:24 PM.

MEMBERS PARTICIPATING ELECTRONICALLY

Neal Crawford, Thelma Drake (see attached approval forms noting the reason for remote participation and the location from which each Board member participated)

MEMBERS ABSENT

Victor Cardwell, John Delandro, Charles Payne, John Watkins

VIRGINIA PASSENGER RAIL AUTHORITY STAFF

DJ Stadtler, Michael McLaughlin, Steve Pittard, Joan Verbonitz, Michael Westermann, John Kostyniuk, Geoff Pelletier, Charles Nelson, Shannon Perry, Selma Nuhanovic, Shirlene Cleveland, Jonathan Capek, Jeremy Latimer, Rob Pinckney, Matt Jett, and Mary Estelle Douglas.

GUESTS

None

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chairperson Robinson presided and called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. Mary Estelle Douglas called Roll and confirmed an in-person quorum was physically present.

BOARD CHAIR WELCOME

Presented by: Tiffany Robinson, Board Chairperson

Tiffany Robinson welcomed everyone to the May 22, 2025 Board meeting.

PUBLIC COMMENT

VPRA did not receive any public comments.

MOTION TO APPROVE PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

A motion was made by Patricia Doersch and seconded by Cynthia Moses-Nedd to approve the Board meeting minutes from January 16, 2025. The motion was carried, with the vote in favor cast by Sandy Bushue, Neal Crawford, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, D.J. Jordan, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, and Beth Rhinehart.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Presented by: DJ Stadtler, Executive Director, Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

DJ Stadtler presented the Executive Director's report to the Board. He reviewed recent VPRA updates, including Amtrak sale dates. Patricia Doersch asked about the impact of sale days, and DJ Stadtler and Steve Pittard responded.

The Norfolk Station Ridership update was reviewed.

Sandy Bushue asked what date VHB was brought on. DJ Stadtler responded.

Mike McLaughlin updated the board on Capital Projects, and Steve Pittard reviewed revenue and investments.

DJ Stadtler reviewed the updated Legal Defense and Indemnification Policy and the update to the VPRA Bylaws.

A motion was made by Patricia Doersch and seconded by Cynthia Moses-Nedd to approve the adoption of revised VPRA Bylaws. The motion was carried, with the vote in favor cast by Neal Crawford, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, and Beth Rhinehart. Sandy Bushue voted nay.

SERVICE PERFORMANCE UPDATE

Presented by: Jeremy Latimer, Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

Jeremy Latimer shared information with the board regarding train performance, heat orders, train delays, and how these are being mitigated.

Rich Dalton noted that PTC was activated for VRE and will enhance safety and throughput.

MOTION FOR CLOSED SESSION

Project Updates and Sidings Project Changes

Patricia Doersch made the following motion:

- "I move that the Board convene in a Closed Session:
 - o (i) "I move that the Board convene in a Closed Session:
 - (i) pursuant to Va. Code Sec. 2.2-3711(A)(29) for the discussion of public contracts relating to VPRA's Transforming Rail in Virginia projects involving the expenditure of public funds, including discussion of the terms or scope of such contracts, where discussion in an open session would adversely affect the bargaining position and negotiating strategy of VPRA.

The motion was seconded by Cynthia Moses-Nedd to move into a closed session. The motion was carried, with the vote in favor cast by Sandy Bushue, Neal Crawford, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, and Beth Rhinehart.

RECONVENE IN AN OPEN SESSION

The chairperson reconvened the open session meeting. Upon reconvening the meeting, Tiffany Robinson made the following statement:

"We are now going to take a roll call vote, and I ask that each member indicate their agreement with the following: To the best of my knowledge, during the Closed Meeting, the only matters heard, discussed, or considered were those matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, and only those public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the Closed Meeting was convened."

The roll was then called, with all members indicating their agreement with the statement. Those indicating agreement were Sandy Bushue, Neal Crawford, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, and Beth Rhinehart.

FY26 BUDGET, MANAGEMENT RESERVE

Presented by: Shannon Perry, Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

Shannon Perry reviewed the proposed FY26 Budget. She provided an overview of the FY26 Budget and the management reserve. She shared sources of primary drivers causing the budget increase through FY31. It was noted that we will be coming back to the board of negotiation outcomes once the outcomes are known.

A motion was made by Darien Flowers and seconded by Beth Rhinehart to approve FY26 Budget The motion carried, with the vote in favor cast by Neal Crawford, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, and Beth Rhinehart.

A motion was made by Patricia Doersch and seconded by Darien Flowers to approve the management reserve balance. The motion was carried, with the vote in favor cast by Neal Crawford, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, and Beth Rhinehart.

ADJOURNMENT

Tiffany Robinson, Chairperson, adjourned the meeting at 1:28 p.m.

All presentations to the Board and meeting videos can be found at http://vpra.virginia.gov/about/Board-meetings and on the VPRA YouTube site.

###