

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

DJ Stadtler Executive Director 919 East Main Street, Suite 2400 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 303-8700 www.vpra.virginia.gov

Tiffany Robinson Chairperson

MINUTES

Meeting of the Board of the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

Thursday, June 26, 2025 · 11:00 am

All Virtual Meeting

The Virginia Passenger Rail Authority Board held a virtual meeting on June 26, 2025.

MEMBERS PARTICIPATING ELECTRONICALLY

Tiffany Robinson (Chair), Neal Crawford, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Charlie Payne, Beth Rhinehart

John Delandro joined at 11:11 am

Cynthia Moses-Nedd joined at 11:18 am

MEMBERS ABSENT

Sandy Bushue, Rich Dalton, Bruno Maestri, John Watkins

VIRGINIA PASSENGER RAIL AUTHORITY STAFF

DJ Stadtler, Michael McLaughlin, Steve Pittard, Joan Verbonitz, Michael Westermann, Geoff Pelletier, Charles Nelson, Shannon Perry, Selma Nuhanovic, Shirlene Cleveland, Rob Pinckney, Jonathan Capek, Matt Jett, and Mary Estelle Douglas.

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chairperson Robinson presided and called the meeting to order at 11:01 a.m. Mary Estelle Douglas called Roll and confirmed a quorum was virtually present.

BOARD CHAIR WELCOME

Presented by: Tiffany Robinson, Board Chairperson

Tiffany Robinson welcomed everyone to the June 26, 2025, Virtual Board meeting.

PUBLIC COMMENT

VPRA did not receive any public comments in the VPRA Contact Us email.

MOTION TO APPROVE PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

A motion was made by Beth Rhinehart and seconded by Darien Flowers to approve the Board meeting minutes from May 22, 2025. The motion was carried, with the vote in favor cast by Neal Crawford, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, Charlie Payne, and Beth Rhinehart.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Presented by: DJ Stadtler, Executive Director, Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

DJ Stadtler reviewed a brief EDR with updates on VPRA Outreach, ridership data, and Capital Projects.

PROJECT UPDATES

Presented by: Mike McLaughlin, Shirlene Cleveland, Geoff Pelletier, and Rob Pinckney, Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

Progress updates were provided on Long Bridge North and South packages, Franconia-Springfield Bypass, and I-95 Corridor Sidings.

MOTION FOR CLOSED SESSION

Budget and Project Updates

Patricia Doersch made the following motion:

I move that the Board convene in a Closed Session:

- o (i) "I move that the Board convene in a Closed Session:
- o (i) pursuant to Va. Code Sec. 2.2-3711(A)(29) for the discussion of public contracts relating to VPRA's Transforming Rail in Virginia projects involving the expenditure of public funds, including discussion of the terms or scope of such contracts, where discussion in an open session would adversely affect the bargaining position and negotiating strategy of VPRA.

The motion was seconded by John Delandro to move into a closed session. The motion was carried, with the vote in favor cast by Neal Crawford, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Charlie Payne, and Beth Rhinehart.

RECONVENE IN AN OPEN SESSION

The chairperson reconvened the open session meeting. Upon reconvening the meeting, Tiffany Robinson made the following statement:

"We are now going to take a roll call vote, and I ask that each member indicate their agreement with the following: To the best of my knowledge, during the Closed Meeting, the only matters heard, discussed, or considered were those matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, and only those public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the Closed Meeting was convened."

The roll was then called, with all members indicating their agreement with the statement. Those indicating agreement were Neal Crawford, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Charlie Payne, and Beth Rhinehart.

FY26 BUDGET AMENDMENT AND MANAGEMENT RESERVE BALANCE

Presented by: Shannon Perry, Virginia Passenger Rail Authority

Shannon Perry reviewed the FY26 Budget and compared it to the requested amended FY26 budget.

A motion was made by Patricia Doersch and seconded by Darien Flowers to approve FY26 Budget Amendment. The motion was carried, with the vote in favor cast by Neal Crawford, John Delandro, Patricia Doersch, Thelma Drake, Darien Flowers, D.J. Jordan, Cynthia Moses-Nedd, Beth Rhinehart, and Charlie Payne.

ADJOURNMENT

Tiffany Robinson, Chairperson, adjourned the meeting at 12:53 p.m.

All presentations to the Board and meeting videos can be found at http://vpra.virginia.gov/about/Board-meetings and on the VPRA YouTube site.

###